Flood Insurance

Do You Need Flood Insurance?

Flooding can occur anywhere it rains, and flood insurance is mandatory for federally backed mortgages. Flood insurance is required to receive federally secured financing to buy, construct, or improve a building in a high-risk flood area, also known as a Special Flood Hazard Area (SFHA), In these areas, more than 75% of all flood claims are paid. Federally regulated or insured lending institutions must determine if the building is in a SFHA. If it is, the lender must require flood insurance on: FHA loans, VA loans, second mortgages, home equity loans, home improvement loans, construction loans, commercial loans, farm credit loans. Be aware that there is a 30-day waiting period before coverage goes into effect.

Visit Flood Smart, or call (888) 379-9531, for information about flooding and protecting your property and yourself. Flood Smart will also provide information on policy rates and coverage. For details on your specific property, it is best to contact a local insurance agent or lending institution.

Community Rating System (CRS)

The Community Rating System (CRS) is a national voluntary program that encourages, recognizes, and rewards local floodplain management activities that go above and beyond the minimum requirements for participation in FEMA’s National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).

The CRS has three goals:

  1. Reduce and avoid flood damage to insurable property.
  2. Strengthen and support the insurance aspects of the NFIP
  3. Foster comprehensive floodplain management.

Under the Community Rating System (CRS), communities can be rewarded for doing more than simply regulating construction of new buildings to the minimum national standards of the NFIP. Under the CRS, the flood insurance premiums of a community’s residents and businesses are discounted to reflect that community’s work to reduce flood damage to existing buildings, manage development in areas not mapped by the NFIP, protect new buildings beyond the minimum NFIP protection level, preserve and/or restore natural functions of floodplains, help insurance agents obtain flood data, and help people obtain flood insurance.

Kenneth City participates in the NFIP and has been a Class 8 community, enabling residents a 10% discount on flood insurance premiums for properties (or contents) in the Special Flood Hazard Area (SFHA) and a 5% discount for properties (or contents) outside the SFHA.

When you renew your Flood Insurance Policy, please check for your "Community Rating Number" stated on your policy. If your policy states a number other than 8, and you are a Kenneth City resident, please call your insurance agent to correct the policy.

Visit the Pinellas County Flood Map Service Center to find out what flood zone your property is in.

SFHA zones begin with the letter A and V as shown on the Flood Insurance Rate Map (FIRM) of Kenneth City.

To view the Flood Insurance Rate Map (FIRM), please visit the NFIP Map Service Center.

To Learn More

For more information on the NFIP, visit the National Flood Insurance Program’s website.

For more information on the benefits of the Community Rating system, visit Community Rating System.

For NFIP Coverage Summary, visit National Flood Insurance Program Summary of Coverage.

For FEMA’s Flood Insurance Handbook, visit Flood Insurance Claims Handbook.